At Feathr, you may encounter a few phrases or terms you aren't familiar with, or maybe you just need a quick refresher. Below are the most common terms we frequently use. Let us know if we missed anything!
Ad: a digital advertisement of your event/show/etc.
Active audience: total number of users in all audiences that have active cookies
Campaign: an organized tactic (in our case, most commonly retargeting ads) promoting a particular product/service/goal/event
Click: when a user clicks on an ad or a website link tracked by Feathr
Conversion: when someone registers (or completes the campaign Goal) after seeing or clicking through an ad
Conversions Tracked: total number of conversions counted for a campaign or event
CPA (cost per acquisition): what it cost you to acquire one conversion
How it’s used: CPA is used as a metric to determine how successful your marketing efforts are. The lower the CPA, the better.
How it’s calculated: Feathr calculates CPA by dividing media spend by the conversions driven
CPM (cost per mille): cost to serve 1000 ads (how ad units are sold)
Creative: an image file or snippet of code that can be rendered as a display advertisement
CTR (click through rate): ratio of users who click on a specific ad to the number of total users who viewed it
How it’s used: the CTR is a metric that can be used to determine how well a creative is performing. The average CTR for display advertising in the US is .1%, while the average CTR for retargeting is doubled at .2%. If you have a low CTR, like 0.05% for a particular creative, you might want to try updating your creatives with a new message or look.
How it’s calculated: CTR is the total number of clicks divided by the total number of impressions.
Data points: the number of user actions tracked
Exposure intensity: the frequency or number of ads shown to users (based on an 8 hour time period)
Exposure strategy: how budget is distributed over the length of the campaign (which affects how many total impressions a campaign displays at particular points of a campaign)
Impression: a single display of a particular ad (creative) on a webpage
Invite Page: Invite Pages are used to promote a specific sponsor, exhibitor, or vendor and drive event conversions. Feathr has customizable templates that can be populated with (exhibitor/sponsor/partner/speaker) information, and generates a unique link for (exhibitor/sponsor/partner/speaker)s to share with their contacts.
Reach: percentage of users from your total audience that were reached in a campaign
Retargeting: a type of digital advertising that uses cookie data to target ads at users after they leave your website
ROI (return on investment): the return amount that you're making back from your campaign
How it's used: ROI is a number that shows the success of your campaign efforts. The higher the ROI, the more successful your campaign is, and the more money you're making back from your campaign.
How it's calculated: The ROI is calculated by taking the number of conversions driven and multiplying it by the value set in the Goal of your campaign. For example, say your Goal for this particular campaign was registration, and the value of one registration was $325. If you had 14.6 conversions driven during that campaign, your ROI would be $4745.
Note: This number does not take the amount spent on the campaign into account. So, if you spent $400 on this campaign, you'd subtract that from the ROI to get a more accurate value. In this case, that would be $4745 - $400, which comes out to $4345. This is still a great return from the initial $400 you invested in the campaign!
Segment: a group of users which can be filtered by activity or attribute. Formerly known as Audience.
Sponsored Retargeting: monetizing your digital audience by selling retargeting packages to your partners, exhibitors, and/or sponsors
User: a unique visitor or tracked cookie